Desert Research and Extension Center
Desert Research and Extension Center
Desert Research and Extension Center
University of California
Desert Research and Extension Center

Ag Career Explorers

CLICK HERE to subscribe to our newsletter and stay updated on our E-Learning programs and virtual field trips.

ag careers flyer

View All Recordings

Explore IV Ag Flyer

In collaboration with El Centro FFA, "Exploring Careers in Agriculture" is specifically designed for middle-high school students interested in exploring careers in agriculture, including agri-business, ornamental horticulture, plant science, and animal science.  These sessions will include a live Q&A with Imperial Valley agriculture employers.

Whether students are learning about agriculture careers for the first time or are diving into specific details; the AG Careers Explorers is designed to educate about the multitude of opportunities that exist in the industry of agriculture.

Resources to continue exploring agriculture careers with your students

FFA Ag Explorer: Find Your Future in Agriculture

When I Grow Up: Discover Ag Career Kit (Grade 6-8)

USDA Youth and Agriculture

National Ag in the Classroom: Agricultural Literacy Curriculum Matrix (Grade 6-12)

Beyond Imperial Valley: Careers in Ag Playlist

IVROP Career Awareness Resources

Ag Careers: Job Listings and Career Success Tools

Past Presenters:*Recordings Available*: Please fill out this brief survey to view all recordings

October 1: Dr. Jairo Diaz, UC DREC Director and UC Researcher http://drec.ucanr.edu/  Contact Jairo at jdiazr@ucanr.edu

October 8: Brooke Latack, UCCE Livestock Advisor for Imperial, Riverside, and San Bernardino Counties http://ceimperial.ucanr.edu/ Contact Brooke at bclatack@ucanr.edu

October 15: Steven Mcfaddin, GroGuru Field Sales Technician https://www.groguru.com/ Contact Steven at mcfaddin.steven@gmail.com

October 22: Edgar Ortega, USDA Rural Development Loan Specialist Contact Edgar at edgar.o.ortega@usda.gov https://www.usda.gov/ **This session will NOT be recorded for later viewing**

October 29: Shelby Dill, Executive Director of IV Vegetable Growers Association. https://www.ivvga.com/ Contact Shelby at shelby@ivvga.com

November 5: James Watte, Pest Control Adviser (PCA), Dune Company Contact James at james.watte@gmail.com

November 12: Chris Bostic, Regional Sales Manager, RDO Equipment Co. Contact Chris at CBostic@rdoequipment.com

November 19:Bill Collins (Sr. Vice President) and Daniel litz (Vice President), Farm Credit West. bill.collins@farmcreditwest.com & Daniel.Litz@farmcreditwest.com

December 3: Hazel Gonzalez, Program Manager/International Trade Specialist in Washington, D.C. with the Trade & Regulatory Capacity Building Division, Foreign Agricultural Service (FAS), U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) hazel.gonzalez@usda.gov

December 17: University of Arizona, Yuma with Sierra Dunn, UA Yuma STEM Outreach Coordinator and Local UA Yuma Students, Julissa Reyes and Summer David sierradunn@arizona.edu 

Webmaster Email: jdiazr@ucanr.edu